Autistic people- incapable of lying?

I am an honest person. Lies make me uncomfortable and I am terrible at spotting when I’m being lied to (even when the lie is outrageous). I don’t like lying, it doesn’t come naturally to me.

Autistic people are generally honest and like clarity in communication. This can be seen negatively as blunt and rude, or positively as clear and honest, depending on your viewpoint. Social lies are something I am still working on– when someone is asking if you like what they’re wearing and it’s too late to change, they are looking for affirmation, not a critique of their choice (though I’m unlikely to remember this and am known for specking about what ever it is that comes to my head).

Autistic people tend to be better at seeing things as they are, rather than seeing how we are socially expected to, and this comes down to the advantage of not processing social communication automatically – we don’t soak things in unconsciously, we make a choice to engage or not based on our previous experiences with similar situations.

There are also some autistic people who do lie as a matter of trying to fit in. This is often down to trying to avoid social confrontation and wanting to give someone exactly what they (the Autistic person) thinks that person wants to hear in order to fit in. It can be a real difficulty for some autistic people, especially because it often ends up distancing them from the people they are trying to get close to.

2 thoughts on “Autistic people- incapable of lying?

    1. I received your form and responded by email but it bounced.
      This is what I wrote:

      Thanks. Unless you request otherwise, your blog will be described as:

      Asteria Grace Woman; Dx12; SPD, OCD, Anx, Dep; autism and disability advocate; Australia (Queensland); 2020-2020

      Please send me an email to confirm and see proper formatting.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started