Autistic people- lacking imagination?

Difficulties with social imagination are a thing, but that does not translate into a lack of imagination generally. We are a very creative bunch. The ability to see patterns one of my favourite things about being autistic; I see patterns and connections in everything and I use this to strengthen my creativity. I may have troubles with applying a creative social story to some green dots on a screen, but I’m great at imagining the connections that run through us all in every aspect of our lives.

What is imagination anyway? Some people think with words, others with pictures, and others with a mixture of both. Is imagination simply thinking about something as it is not?

I start to get twitchy if a few days go by and I haven’t made or created something new. The what form it takes doesn’t matter, it could be writing, origami, woodwork, design, DIY, sewing, spread sheets or gardening; creativity is a drive that has imagination at its roots.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started